Adding RTK to a Paparazzi UAV

Bonjour,

Je suis intéressée par l’intégration du RTK sur drone utilisant un autopilote Paparazzi;
Je souhaite commencer en premier lieu par essayer d’établir le PPK, et je voudrais acheter un Tiny RTK. J’ai quelques questions:
1- Aurais-je besoin de base aussi pour établir le PPK? (Antenne ou autre matériel?)
2- Comment utiliser le Tiny RTK en mode PPK?
3- Est-ce que vous avez déjà essayé cela avec un autopilote Paparazzi?

Merci d’avance.

Hello,

I am new in RTK and I want to integrate it on my drone using a Paparazzi autopilot;
First, I want to try to establish the PPK, and I would like to buy a Tiny RTK. I have some questions:

1- Would I need a base too to establish the PPK? And an antenna? (anything else?)
2- How to use the Tiny RTK in PPK mode?
3- Have you ever tried this with a Paparazzi autopilot?

Thank you.

Hi,
for running TinyRTK / XL RTK GPS / … in PPK mode you need a external data logger. We build such a GPS Datalogger which stores NMEA and UBX/RINEX datastream on an SD-Card. Beside this, while running the number of satellites is indicated by a LED.

We sell them, but do not promote them right now. If you are interested please contact us at office@REDcatch.at
We can also provide the information on how to configure the TinyRTK / XL RTK Modules to output the UBX/RINEX datastream.

When using PPK Mode you need a BaseStation RINEX file. Either from a service provider, from another Tiny RTK Module or from an Surveyours GNSS equipment.

For postprocessing and geotagging of the images, we provide a TOOLBOX with the logger mentioned above. Output are txt lines (image.jpg lat lon elev accuracy) and Agisoft Photoscan Project files in *.psx format.

RTK is easier than PPK as no data storage is required. But other problems with radio, limited bandwidth, limited radio distances occur.

Regarding Paparazzi Autopilot - we’ve never tried…

regards, Hans

Hey Hans,
Thank you for all these informations, but I still have a few questions.