Can`t get RM3100 magnetometer to show it self

Got my first Pixhawk now and trying to get it to work. (Pixhawk 3Pro - F9P Sirius RTK Rover - F9P Sirius RTK Base - RM3100 Magnetometer )

Im starting with on bench setup and i sure need some help to understand something regarding the RM3100 external compass i bought.

I have the SIRIUS RTK rover WITHOUT the compass embedded so we are running the external Drotek RM3100 unit.

I am very new to the whole Pixhawk setup so please bear with me :slight_smile:

The RM3100- i connected with the I2C port to the Pixhawk 3Pro, but it is not showing up in Ardupilot .
I only get the ID from the two internal Pixhak 3 magnetometers- showing ID 1 and 2 and 3 has no ID.

What is it that i need to do to make it talk to each other ? what to change so it shows up.

Hi there,

The RM3100 is usually simply connected to one of the I2C port available on the Pixhawk 3 Pro, then try to reboot the whole device and normally it should work.

What is the test procedure you tried? How did you get confirmation that the RM3100 is not working? Did you update the Ardupilot firmware? Have you tested using PX4 firmware instead of Ardupilot?

By using the mavlink console which is available in QGroundControl and typing in sensors status, do you manage to see the RM3100 mag? Does anything show up in the mavlink console when typing RM3100 info ?

Here, i have attached some valuable information on RM3100 for your reference.

https://drotek.gitbook.io/additional-devices/sensors/geomagnetic-sensor/rm3100

I hope this helps.

Thank you and have a nice day.

I basically just plugged the RM3100 to the I2C port on the Pixhawk 3pro and then i have connected it to pc.