Community forums

NTRIP without base, only rover. Is it possible?

Hello.

I’m new in dealing with RTK receivers, and need your help.

I’d like to check whether the configuration below works.

What I’m trying to do is:
(1) Install NTRIP client on Raspberry Pi 3, and receive RTCM message via LTE
(using NTRIP caster provided by national organization)
(2) Connect Raspberry Pi 3 to Drotek RTK receiver through USB, to inject RTCM message into the RTK receiver.
(3) Connect Pixhawk to Drotek RTK to receive corrected GNSS data.
(Pixhawk port: I2C, GPS // Drotek RTK receiver: Rover)

Has anyone have done this configuration before? Did it work?
(or, does anyone know whether it works?)

If you say yes, am I right to use port as configuration above?
(Raspberry Pi 3 USB - Drotek RTK micro USB ==> to transmit RTCM
Pixhawk I2C and GPS - Drotek RTK “Rover” port ==> to transmit NMEA)
Does it need soldering right above the Telemetry port on Drotek RTK receiver?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Hello Quuone_J,

RTCM3 & NMEA data are sent in both ways using the same UART on the Rover PORT.
Therefore, the USB cable is only required to power the XL RTK receiver up. Alternatively, you may use the Pixhawk 5V output to power supply the XL RTK board. Thus it means no USB cable needed anymore.

Actually, I do think you should provide more details regarding the interface between the Pixhawk and the Raspberry Pi 3. You will certainly have to forward NMEA & RTCM data, again, in both ways using a UART interface between those two.

Hope you are going to find your way out. Please keep us informed if you got it sorted. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Hello Paul_T

Thanks for your reply.

I thought I have to explain more about what I’m trying to do.

As shown in the figure above, I want to change the red-box part into the blue-box part.

In the red-box, there occurs a process of sending correction data (RTCM) to the RTK receiver.